Chakra is an ancient meditation practice and originates from an old Sanskrit word, translating to 'wheel'. Chakra represents the 7 chakras around your body, with 7 different centers of energy. Each chakra is connected to one area of the body and an emotional state. It is believed that by balancing these energies your emotional, physical and spiritual wellbeing will benefit.



The root chakra sits at the base of the spine and is known to embody a red-ish hue. Picture yourself sitting in a cross-legged position on the floor, now imagine your sit bones extending deep into the earth below you, creating the very roots that make up the foundation of your life. These roots represent all the things in your life that bring you security; the various pieces that ensure your survival such as food, shelter, water, and sleep. 

A root chakra that is in balance gives you vibrant energy, physical health, and feelings of stability. Symptoms of a root chakra that is out of balance include feelings of fear, anxiety, and insecurity. To bring root chakra into balance, try working with a Red Jasper or Smoky Quartz stone.



The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen and womb and possesses an orange color. The sacral chakra is all about our ability to experience pleasure in all forms–our joy, our desires, all the things that make us feel good. Translated from Sanskrit, svadhishthana literally means “sweetness”; the health of our sacral chakra determines to what extent we are able to experience the sweetness of life. It determines how free we feel to express ourselves creatively, how satisfied we are with our lives, and how we relate to the world around us. 

When operating in balance, the sacral chakra is the doorway to a joyful, creative life. You are open to receiving all of life’s sensory pleasures, not just those of a sexual nature. A healthy sacral chakra allows you to live life to the fullest. It allows you to fully engage with the world around you, translating and integrating the sensory experience of your life into your energetic body. To restore the sacral chakra, try using a Carnelian crystal or Cherry Tanzberry Quartz. 



The Solar Plexus Chakra is where we derive our sense of self and personal autonomy. Commonly associated with a bright yellow color, the third chakra is located directly in your naval center–the same place as your gut intuition. The solar plexus is your source of strength, willpower, and individuality. It governs your ability to confidently and courageously engage with the world around you. Your distinct source of personal power allows you to live life freely and authentically, unburdened by feelings of doubt and inadequacy.

Your will is strong and personal to you and can be harnessed in any direction you want. It is an infinite source of power and we have the ability to harness that power toward any life we wish to create. A strong solar plexus chakra allows you to co-create with the universe and live the life that is both best for you and for the highest good of all. To strengthen your connection to your solar plexus, consider using the power of Citrine or Pyrite. 



The Anahata space is the place from which all else flows. Located in the center of the chest and embodying an emerald green hue, it is quite literally the center of life, the place where the energy from all nadis converge. The Anahata space serves as our energetic gatekeeper–the center of our being and consciousness. Yes, it is associated with love, but not just the romantic type. It involves our love of life, our connection to the love that is all around us.

The chief operating force of the heart chakra is equilibrium. The Anahata space is the product of everything inside of you. As the body is constantly recalibrating its energies, the heart space is where everything meets. It is where all aspects of our being come together to find calm and balance. From this place, we care for ourselves fully and completely and are able to extend this care to those around us. To work on bringing equilibrium to the heart space, use a crystal with loving energy such as a Rose Quartz stone. 



Vishuddha, located in the throat, is the chakra responsible for passing information between all of the upper and lower chakras. Located in the throat area and blue or turquoise in color, this narrow space actually has quite a big role to play. It is the direct connection between the upper and lower triangles of our chakras–the bridge between our manifestation and liberation channels.

The throat chakra is mainly associated with communication and the ability to create and express freely. A clear throat chakra allows us to be masters of non-attachment. We are able to let things go, forgive and move forward, and surrender our preferences to outcomes. On the other hand, a blocked throat chakra will leave us vulnerable to intense feelings of guilt and shame, making it difficult to remain in the present moment. 

Vishuddha translates to mean “purification.” When this space is closed, it becomes a poison trapped in the body; when it is open, it is able to cleanse and energy flows freely. We are able to confidently share our voice with the world. Crystals are excellent tools for purification. To work on cleansing and opening up the throat chakra, try a Lapis Lazuli stone or any kind of blue-colored stone. 



The third eye chakra, Ajna, is our source of intuition and spiritual awakening. It usually has a purple-ish or bright indigo color. When the third eye chakra is activated, we have reached a level of awareness where the passive world around us falls away and we are able to find unity. The Sanskrit meaning of Anja implies that true command of self comes from overcoming the illusion of duality and surrendering to the guidance from within. 

 The driving force of the third eye chakra is light. It is the chakra of illumination, allowing us to see and experience life through a heightened level of awareness. We are able to transform our consciousness through the activation of this energy–detach from the perceived suffering around us and find inner calm and peace. For a well-balanced third eye chakra, try working with the power of an Amethyst crystal. 



The crown chakra, the seventh and final energy center of most contemporary chakra systems, is the most ethereal and transcendent of all the chakras. Located on the very top of the head, it is our direct connection to the divine. The Sanskrit name for the crown chakra is Sahasrara which translates to “thousand-petalled” referencing the infinite number of petals associated with this particular chakra. Let that sink in for just a moment, our crown chakra is our source of beautiful, infinite life.

 Through Sahasrara, we are connected to everything in existence–the crown chakra illuminates, awakening us to the idea that we are in fact connected to everything in the universe–all is one. The crown chakra represents enlightenment or our most heightened level of consciousness. Through the crown chakra, we are able to find transcendent awareness, liberating ourselves from the cycles of life and death that plague our external world and connecting directly with source and spirit. 

An activated crown chakra can bring us to a state of super consciousness by which we are able to receive downloads and special nuggets of information from the universe we wouldn’t otherwise be open to receiving. To foster a connection to your crown chakra, try any clear colored crystal, namely Clear Quartz or Golden Healer Quartz.  


Can You Relate to this?

Are Your Chakras Blocked?

Try Healing Yourself with the Help of GEYED®

Contact Us!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.